Halftime – 6 months

I celebrated 6 months in the US today on a surfboard. I was expecting it to be hard, but at the same time I thought I was gonna have an advantage since I’ve been doing some snowboarding. But it was hard and I could stand up for a few seconds a few times before falling off. We were five au pair girls (me, Moa, Giorgia, Lucia and Hellen) taking a group lesson in La Jolla. Two hours, $55, pretty okay. I was the first one getting a push from the instructor Richard and I could actually stand up for a second. But after that I fell as soon as I tried to stand up. But I didn’t give up and could actually stand up for a few seconds once in a while and the last wave I stood up for 5 seconds for sure!! I didn’t really have any technique though, but I guess you have to lean backwards and bend your knees more than I did. But I have 6 more months to practice, so I will figure this out eventually (hopefully)! Moa was really awesome! She could stand up almost every time and looked really professional for a first-timer.

It was exhausting and the toughest part was to get out from the beach to catch a new wave. There were currents and of course the waves. I think both my arms and legs will be like noodles tomorrow. Good thing we’re just gonna hang out at the zoo all day tomorrow…. Not ;).

After our two hours we drove to the Cheesecake Factory. Delicious as always! Today me and mom shared a Wild Blueberry White Chocolate Cheesecake.

We were supposed to bake vanilla buns today (since I kinda accidently told the kids that my mom makes the best vanilla buns in the world and then promised them she would bake some for them before she got back to Sweden). But we were too tired and will do it tomorrow night instead. Which is, by the way, our last night together here in California. Time flies by! I mean, six months in USA, already?! And everyone keeps saying that the last six months are the fastest ones. I know I have seven months left before I must leave for cold Sweden again, but for some reason it feels so soon. But I am living to the fullest here, seeing the things I want to see, experiencing new stuff and developing as a person. So I will definitely have no regrets when I get back. I just have to continue what I’m doing :).

Lizard in the backyard Surf lesson in the sand Surf lesson in the sand Hard to carry! Super hard to carry!Getting out there Moa Moa was a natural! 🙂Lucia Giorgia Moa MoaThere were a lot of funny falls.Lucia Lucia was really good too.Me Getting there…Giorgia Hellen Me Did someone say you can’t surf and bowl at the same time?!Me Surf lesson Lucia, Giorgia, Moa, Hellen, me and the patient instructor Richard.Wild Bluberry White Chocolate CheesecakeWild Blueberry White Chocolate Cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory.

It was a really great day today and I really look forward to the next time I will get out there in the waves :).

Leave a Reply

